It Follows – My Thoughts/ A Rant

*spoilers*

It Follows (2014) is a ‘unique’ horror film about a sexually transmitted supernatural force. I really don’t know how to describe this film, here’s a link to its IMDB page for something that makes more sense.

I spent a good 80% of this film asking myself what was going on. Overall I enjoyed the premise of this film. The story had a lot of potential, as well as being very nice to look at. The cinematography was stunning for a horror, and the score was also very unique. But I still have so many questions.

Firstly, where are their parents? obviously its a classic horror film thing for parents to not exist. But at least explain why they’re not there? Also, if a supernatural being is trying to kill you, don’t go and sit on an empty swing set, or sleep on top of your car in a forest. Is there a reason why ‘it’ is almost always half naked, are the boobs really necessary? Theres a whole lot of petty things I that confused me in this film. There were quite a few shots which distracted me completely from what was going on. I was constantly asking myself ‘where is she going’ or ‘whats going on?’ and my questions were never answered.

Overall, this film looked and sounded great. I’m even thinking about buying the score on vinyl. But this film in literally about an STD. A sexually transmitted demon. It had so much potential but, unfortunately, it didn’t do anything for me.

Anyway, what did you think? Let me know in the comments, lets converse!

31/07/2017

 

3 thoughts on “It Follows – My Thoughts/ A Rant”

      1. Now remember the Golden Rule about GOOD horror films

        1. It can’t made at a major studio
        2. It can’t have big name stars
        3. It can’t rated PG-13.

        As along as a horror film follows those guidelines,it has a chance to be scary.

        You might point out the SAW series was put out by Lionsgate but at the time,Lionsgate was a very small studio and was more willing to take a risk….

        Like

Leave a Reply

