The Growth of Mediocre Movies

In recent years, I haven’t been able to get my head around the growth of half-arsed films being released constantly. Obviously I’m aware that many film makers are in it for the money, and I am also aware how much money is in Hollywood these days, however, as an artist myself, I don’t understand how so much time and effort is put into films which are obviously not good, or at least not the best they can be.

By ‘mediocre’, I mean films that slightly entertain you, but aren’t anything special or noteworthy. They make enough money and do well enough for the stars and the industry, but again aren’t anything special. Usually, you can spot a mediocre movie from miles off. They’re often sequels (that definitely wasn’t a dig at Fast & Furious. Probably,) or remakes. This can’t always be a bad thing, the Planet Of The Apes franchise being a great example of some great remakes and sequels.

It’s not very often that a completely unique and original film comes out. Sequels are very common, as well as films that are part of a larger franchise (Note: I will excuse Marvel from this, as they seem to be producing some genuinely great films in recent years. D.C. however…)

Lets take a look at the most popular films in cinemas currently. (reference)

Spider-Man: Homecoming, Baby Driver, Wonder Woman, Transformers: The Last Knight, Orja, Despicable Me 3.

Only two of these are completely independent and unique (Baby Driver especially, a new favourite of mine.) These are all pretty great films, but there’s something missing. It’s originality. Something new and fresh, something that sticks in my head for weeks after and makes me want to talk. Surprisingly, the films listed above have been great. However I would love to see more originality in the film industry.

Although it’s only been a short one this week, I hope I’ve made enough sense to get my point across! What are your thoughts? Lets converse!

15/07/2017

 

 

1 thought on “The Growth of Mediocre Movies”

  1. Agreed….its really a shame that despite so many more movies being made,seeing them on the big screen is getting next to impossible. The market is flooded with titles that are boring,badly made and star Steven Seagal. I buy 80-90% of my films blindly,meaning I know zero about them other then a name of actor or director. I also tend to buy titles from certain film houses like IFC,which releases excellent films. IFC Midnight,meh…..
    I stay away from big theater movies other then the superhero films or a RARE historic movie like “Dunkirk”,because for the most part,they are junk. It’s because of looking at smaller films,that I have discovered new favorites!

    Good stuff!!! Keep going!

    Like

Leave a Reply

